COMESA and Francophony

JPEGThe 19 member-State COMESA includes 9 countries belonging to the International Organisation for the Francophonie (OIF). French appears in the COMESA statutes as one of the official languages of the organisation, alongside English and Portuguese. Multilingual by nature, COMESA, on a daily basis, must provide effective communication, including in French.

The Secretary General has often expressed the need to strengthen the use and role of the French language within the organisation, and it is for this reason that he has called for France’s support. Consequently, active language cooperation has been put in place, for the benefit of the various departments at the COMESA secretariat.

Since 2002, COMESA has been an important partner in the Francophonie Week organised in Zambia, and in March 2004, the OIF paid tribute to the organisation for its active participation. In fact, the OIF Ambassador to the African Union participated in the Forum on regional integration of Francophone countries in Africa organised by the COMESA.

This attachment to the Francophone identity took shape during the signing of a memorandum of understanding between COMESA and OIF in May 2003, represented by Mr. Erastus Mwencha and H.E. Mr. Abdou Diouf respectively.

The nine COMESA countries that are also OIF members are as follows:
  • Burundi
  • Comoros
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Madagascar
  • Mauritius
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles

Online: 04/08/2016

top of the page